Adder Build log, or wait 5 years to fight your first beetleweight robot

My first post here, so I hope I’m doing this right!

Adder was my first beetleweight, and only the 3rd robot I had built, after an antweight pusher and hammersaw.
It was December 2018 and I’d been inspired by bugglebots to build something I could actually bring to an event. As I worked as a sheet metal design engineer at the time, a laser cut and folded base seemed the most simple, and after about 20 minutes of research I decided to design a 1.5kg version of the Fingertech Viper kit on my lunch break (a trend I continue still on my current robots).
The basic design follows the same overall shape as the viper kit, but as I’d never actually fought at an event, the fasteners specified were what I would typically use on my work, so M3 nutserts was chosen as it was a similar build method to what Fingertech were using (not a great idea)
Some bribery to the laser operators and a few days later I was holding my first robot!

It was to say the least, heavy. 3mm thick steel body with a 4mm Steel wedge put me at 1560g without a battery!
But still it was enough to satisfy me and it happily drove around my workshop floor. If I remember correctly the ESC’s were those generic 10A red units, with a 500mah Lipo.
Sadly due to life and other commitments robots were shelved for a while, I did get some aluminum prototypes done a few months later, but they remain unbuilt.

Adder lived on a shelf for the next 3 years until we had a competition at work between the engineers to build and battle sportsman beetles, it acted as the house robot and performed well, despite having no maintenance performed (this will come to be an issue)