First Timer Build Diary

I’ve decided to build a beetleweight. I’ve done some electronics work before, and a little soldering. Aside from that, I’m a complete and utter novice that’s watched too much Robot Wars.

I figured it might be interesting to log the journey of a first robot attempt, to see just how hard it can be!

1 Like

Step 1 was churning out some designs and wasting a load of cardboard. After a spot of advice here I was set on looking into some form of lifter design. That prompted some furious scribbling and led to a cardboard design I didn’t hate:

2 Likes

Now the fun part. Got the soldering iron out with clearly misguided memories of my last attempt at soldering anything being a resounding success.

Started this at 9am, writing at 1pm and I have this to show for it:

Now I’ve got the beginnings of the safety circuit, I’ll be getting the remainder ready in the next week or so. The plan is to then bundle all of this into the cardboard design and see how far off I was on measurements. Hopefully everything actually works and it’ll move…

3 Likes

Another update! I’ve joined my local Hackspace (shoutout to Manchester Hackspace) and been down there using their far superior soldering gear. Shy of some insulation tape round the motor connections, we’re ready to get the receiver hooked up and try spinning some wheels!

4 Likes

Looking spot on mate! Well done. Out of curiosity have you got a fuse in there?

I do, 30A in the link.

Question while I’m here actually - on the radio receiver (I’m using the little 4 channel one Here) - should I be soldering the pins onto that? Looks fiddly… it’s either that or hope the heat shrink keeps them in place.

Perfect! All good then.