Help: BBB Antweight Drive Kit

Hi, I hope this is the right place to ask:
I recently decided to get into bot building, and got the antweight drive kit from BBB.
I soldered on the motors, mounted it on a rather simple bottom plate and added an rx - and it mostly works,

• I can drive forward in a straight line
  • I can turn left
  • I can turn right

However, if I pull back the throttle to drive backward… it drives backward, but also the drive doesn’t do the same speed, so it becomes a (quite tight) curve.

I’ve tried multiple different radios, with freshly created models, just to make sure I didn’t carry over any setting that might cause this, so I can rule out the radio.

I replaced the RX - just in case - and because I don’t know how I could test it any better (as I’ve never used RX with PWM outputs before). Issue persists.

now I have no experience with brushed motors, but my guess would be that its like with brushless ones: if an issue exists turning in one direction, it should exist when running the other direction too?

which leaves the BBB dual ESC - which sadly came without a manual.

Has anyone run into a similar issue? If so did you find a solution?

Does anyone have any documentation on the dual esc itself, information what firmware it is running (or better, if/where the source for the firmware is available), or really any advice on how to debug this any further without?

This sounds like it can be solved by using the trims on your transmitter. It’s pretty common and a usual part of setting up a robot.

A slight timing in the motors themselves, weight distribution and traction can all affect the handling. Very rarely will you get a robot that drives laser straight forward and backwards. Especially if it’s 2wd.