Help with Antweight

I’ve just got started here after a while of thinking about it. I’m looking to finally follow through on my plans of building an ant weight. I have a mid to low level cad experience and a 3d printer. I’ve done RC cars before. I’m a quite confused on what charger and battery to use. Spinners are cool and I can laser cut metal. I have a budget of around 160 quid all in. I have a general idea of what to do but I’m really after some general help with parts and other stuff. I have basic electrics knowledge and tools (drill solder etc). Not to be picky but I’m not a fan of eBay. Lipos are scary. Any help would be greatly appreciated :+1:.

If you aren’t keen on eBay, then HobbyKing is going to be your best bet.
For a spinner (which I do not recommend for a first time bot), you’ll be wanting a 2S LiPo in the 20p-250 mAh range.
This one is 300mAh, which may be a bit overkill, but gives you the general idea.

Bristol Bot Builders do offer a USB charger for 2S LiPos

If you want future proofing for if you go to other weightclasses, I highly recommend the IMAX B6AC V2

1 Like

Thanks so much
I have a question about the bbb charger.
Does it have the ability to storage charge? I’ve always been very careful with storage with my RC battery’s and would be a bit scared to not have it. Is it as necessary as in RC or can I get away with out it?
Thanks

Hi!

Just to add I don’t think hobbyking have stock of those sort of lipos at the moment!

We keep a list of 2S lipos on our recommended parts page.

At the moment the best in stock UK option is this 250mah 2S:

The USB charger won’t do storage, something like the Imax would. Don’t forget to get a lipo bag to charge in :slight_smile:

1 Like